Monologue Monday

Monologue Monday: On the Verge by Aurora Rooker

Welcome back to Unknown Playwrights aand Monologue Monday. Usually we do something comedic, but this monologue is pretty dang depressing.

Drama sad mask sign simple icon on background
Sufficientky sad….

The monologue is about Abigail, whose friend Mary has been in a coma for three years and this is what Abigail has to say to her:

Abigail: If you’re able to hear, please listen to me. I don’t want you to leave me! Everything feels so wrong without you. If you can hear me, please say something. You’ve been sleeping too long! Oh God, please give her strength. I want her to stay so bad. She’s the only one I have. She’s the only one I can run to, and hide in for shelter from the cold reality of our daily lives.

Oh Mary, if you don’t make it through, some things will be left unsaid. So, I have no choice but to say them now. I love you more than life itself. You are the only person I can truly talk to, and never have reservations about what to say. I feel like a different person around you, and that I can truly be myself, and like I don’t have to impress anyone. And that is the best feeling in the whole world.

Just knowing that that might be leaving me is killing me right now. If you leave me, nothing will be right. You won’t be there to save me from myself. Who will I call at 3:00 in the morning when something won’t get off my mind? Who!? Please, oh please, don’t go. Just fight one day longer, please. You’re the only one that makes my life worth living. So if you leave, out walks my reason to carry on. Every day will feel empty, and the only thing I will be able to think about is what we could have done if you still here. I will ache, and I will cry, and I will never be the same. So don’t go. I’m asking you, with all of my heart, please…

A

 

B

 

C

 

Someday, hopefully there will be a few more versions of this monologue. Join us next week for more playwrights and more monologues.

Ciao!!!!

Leave a comment